#MakeupMonday – June 18, 2012 Sun Goddess summer tan

by STEFY[RUNWAYORTHEHIGHWAY]

Hello Beauties!! It’s #MakeupMonday!!

…okay so this post got delayed a day, I apologize!! nonetheless, you won’t want to miss out on this one!

Summer is here & I’ve seen many of you out there trying to get that sun kissed tan. I must admit I’ve been to a tanning bed before, however I definitely do not recommend it. You’ve heard of all the negative side effects tanning beds can cause, so there’s no need for me to get into that here, instead I want to share with you a FABULOUS alternative.

** 1st Contest/Giveaway begins today!! Keep reading to find out more!! **

When it comes to trying tanning lotions, I’m really picky because 1) I really dislike the yucky scent most have & leave on your skin, and 2) the color, I’ve learned that some make you look more like an ompaloompa than giving you that coveted sunkissed look as if you just came back from somewhere speculator like say Copacabana, Brazil.

RUNWAYORTHEHIGHWAY #MakeupMonday 18 June, 2012 Sun Goddess summer tan

Here are my three favorite tanning lotions!!!!!

(in no particular order, I would honestly recommend & re-buy all three products I will mention, all are equally fantastic!)

Product #1

The first I’ve used for a few years now & liked it, unfortunatly on a trip during winterI lost it :(

Alba Botanica Very Emollient Sunless Tanning Lotion

Alba Sunless Tanning Lotion

This product can be found in many places, including drug-store I believe, however it’s the best out there in it’s “lower-end” there especially for the terrific low price point, however I would not consider it your typical drug-store brand status or quality. This is truly a favorite of mine that I think is simply a great quality product all around. I’ve used this product for a year & have recommended it to friends and family who’ve complimented me on it.

It’s a natural product &  honestly is non-streaking in case anyone is wondering, and it doesn’t leave you looking orangey. Really simple & easy to apply, and gives you slightly subtle yet noticeable tan you can gradually build. I have a  medium skin tone with beige/golden undertones, and this gives me a natural looking tan that isn’t too in your face, so this is definitely great for starting your tan look or for a natural glow during winter if you’re medium skin-toned like me. I’d say if you have a skin tone that’s more on the fair side, this would be a great product to try out  for starters or anyone else without having to fear that fake tan look. Absorbs & develops quickly in 3 hours and it’s tinted so you can see exactly where you’re placing the product & no gloves or applicator required. I’d say this product lasts about a week or so before reapplication is required.

    

(For those wondering what does Paraben Free means? Check this article by the Best Health Magazine out to learn more!)

Product #2

I received this product from Miss Carol Shaw herself, Founder of Lorac Cosmetics.

LORAC selfTANtilizer Body Bronzing Gradual Self Tanner

This product is more high-end considering it’s by LORAC, so is a little pricey comes with a washable applicator mitt to achieve an even and non-streaked tan, also avoiding orange palms. Overall this product is also fantastic… doesn’t give you an orange appearance, but DOES give you that red carpet celebrity tan so many of us crave. This is one of LORAC’s best selling products.

LORAC selfTANtalizer Body Bronzing Gradual Self-Tanner is a unique two-in-one product that creates the immediate, bronze, transfer-resistant glow of a body makeup and the long-lasting tanning results of the best self-tanners. This easy-to-use self-tanning lotion contains DHA to safely build natural, rich color gradually and is infused with anti-aging Camu Camu along with Maracuja and Pomegranate Seed Oils to help skin smooth, healthy and protected. The luxurious vanilla fragrance of LORAC’s gradual self-tanner will awaken your spirits with a sweetly seductive scent.

Product #3

This summer, I decided to try out a product from Sun Goddess! I really liked the name and boy it is definitely one worth trying if you’re looking for a tan that is more noticeable than your average drug-store brand self-tanner. This one I’d say is better than bed or spray tanning hands down.

Sun Goddess Sunless Tanning Lotion

    This is a “animal-cruelty-free product” comes in a simple white packaging with a glittery Sun Goddess logo & back info label, also comes w/ a pair of reusable black application gloves conveniently packaged in the pink organza bag. Dries quickly in about 3 hours. This product will last about 10 days.

The above photo shows a close up of the product, as you can see it is a very deep dark brown color & has a hint of glitter in it, however once it’s applied to the skin the glitter is very very subtle, not even noticeable, leaving the skin looking absolutely moisturized & shiny like supermodel legs :) …DON’T be frightened!!, yes the color looks extremely dark, hence it only comes in the “DARK” color, but once applied it blends into the skin very nicely & naturally and b/c of its deep brown color, it won’t be giving you that infamous orange oompaloompa color.

Here is a before & after photo of me with & without wearing Sun Goddess so you can see what I mean…

Buy Alba on Amazon.com! B001E77M8Q

Buy LORAC selfTANtilizer! http://www.loraccosmetics.com/best-sellers_selftantalizer-body-bronzing-gradual-self-tanner.html

Buy Sun Goddess! (10% Discount Code: beeutyandtheblog) http://www.sungoddess.us/

As with all sunless tanning lotions, it’s best to not shower or going swimming before the product has set & dried for 3 hours. If you need to have a tan for your occasion I recommend applying a day ahead of time. All products I mentioned above it will take a minimum of 3 hours to dry and you should be able to go swimming or shower after the 3 hours.  All products mentioned will not transfer onto clothing, but with that said, this is only if the product’s instructions were followed. Lastly, as with all self-tanners, you should wash your hands immediately after use in order to prevent colored palms which are a tanning no-no!!

 10% DISCOUNT CODE  for the SUN GODDESS is:  beeutyandtheblog

STAY TUNED!!

P.S.  Will be giving away 5 packets which is enough for a one-time full body tan to 2 lucky winners!!

Contest Rules:  Must “LIKE” my FB Fan Page & “Follow Me” on Twitter  @ROTHtweets to be entered into my Sun Goddess Tanning Lotion Sample Giveaway. I will be checking to verify, or rather the Rafflecopter widget will. The more you fill out the more points you can earn & the higher your chances of winning. Go to my Facebook Like Page where you’ll see the link to this giveaway & to enter!

Winner will be announced June 30!

Hope you like this giveaway!

bloglovin

